Minutes of the Annual Parish Church Meeting Monday 22 May 2023

Wayne Massey welcomed attendees and opened the meeting in prayer

1. Annual Meeting of Parishioners

Sarah Yates was appointed clerk of the meeting.

2. Apologies for absence

See below

3. Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Parishioners 2022

Proposed: Ann Tizzard Seconded: David Kenna

Carried.

4. Election of Church Wardens

Wayne Massey informed the meeting that Jeremy Peters had been a warden for seven years and was stepping down but he would now become Buildings Warden which is a Bishop's Officer Appointment.

Because Jeremy has exceeded the normal time limit for acting as church warden the meeting needed to approve him standing again.

Proposed: Kirstin Dykes Seconded: Megan Vowles Carried unanimously

Nominations for Church Wardens:

Jane Auld was proposed by Timothy Pelham and seconded by Clare Pengelly Scott Alex Murray was proposed by Jeremy Peters and seconded by Ann Tizzard Jeremy Peters was proposed by Philippa Hinds and seconded by Emma Biddell Carried unanimously

Wayne declared Jeremy Peters, Jane Auld and Alex Murray to be the Church Wardens for the parish for 2023-2024. Wayne informed the meeting that, as a parish, we are entitled to have up to six Wardens so with three, the parish was still under the maximum.

The Wardens were prayed for.

Annual Parochial Church Meeting

1.Apologies

David Vowles Lindsay Davey Simon Satchell Steve Myerscough

2. Minutes of the APCM 2022

No corrections made

Proposed: Judith Steward Seconded: Ann Tizzard

Carried

3. Matters Arising

No matters arising.

4. Electoral Roll report

There have been three additions and three deletions, so the Parish Electoral Roll still numbers 164.

5. Election of Deanery Synod members

There were no nominations for the Deanery Synod vacancies. There are three vacancies. Wayne will explain what the role would involve if anyone is interested in it.

6 Election of Parochial Church Council Members

There were three nominations for PCC Membership:

- Wil Bevan proposed by Stephen Myerscough and seconded by Simon Satchell
- Stephen Glanville proposed by Jeremy Peters and seconded by Hazel Sumner
- Chris Rollitt proposed by Jane Auld and seconded by Gail Bryant

No election was needed so these three people were elected to the PCC.

The PCC is there to hold the leaders to account and oversee the work of the church. In the last year many of the meetings have been taken up with the delivery of the move from 160a to 279 Gloucester Road. Wayne expressed his gratitude to those who serve on the PCC and members of the PCC were prayed for.

7. Annual Report of PCC 2022

Proposed by Charles Auld Seconded by Alex Murray Carried

A written safeguarding report was presented to the meeting. Safeguarding in the Parish is covered by James Stevenson as clergy lead and Claire Pengelly-Scott as the Safeguarding Officer.

Ellen Crane also has safeguarding responsibility for Youth and Wendy Massey for Kids. Wayne thanked Claire, Wendy and Ellen. He asked anyone who had any concerns about safeguarding to be in touch with Claire.

Those who have responsibility for Safeguarding in the Parish were prayed for.

8. PCC Accounts 2022

Wil Bevan will be voted in as Treasurer at the first PCC Meeting and will try to recruit someone as Treasurer to succeed him for three years, if possible.

The church accounts are complex because of giving, church hall rentals, grants and awards.

Wayne thanked Lindsay Davey, Finance Officer, for all her hard work behind the scenes.

There are challenges in finding the funds for the building project because of the cost of living crisis and the need to to support the community through the Love Your Neighbour programme. In 2023 we need to fix a deficit. The accounts for six months will be made available in July.

Any questions on the accounts should be addressed in the next few weeks to Wayne or to Wil Bevan. PCC accounts were approved by PCC as trustees and were received and approved by the meeting.

9. Appointment of Independent Examiners for 2022 Accounts

The reappointment of Burton Sweet was proposed by Jane Auld and seconded by Ellen Crane. Carried

10. Deanery and Diocesan Synod Reports

The Diocese of Bristol has just completed its Transforming Churches Strategy and is available on the Diocese of Bristol website.

Date of the next meeting has not yet been set but will be published once it has been decided.

Attendees

Adonna Hiscox

Alex Murray

Angela Kenna

Ann Tizzard

Anthony Wiskin

Charles Auld

Chrissy Shurlock

Claire Pengelly Scott

David Kenna

Diane Spencer

Ellen Crane

Emily Astbury Head

Harry Butterfield

Helen Madden

Hazel Sumner

Jan Hillman

Jane Auld

James Stevenson

Jeremy Bewley

Jeremy Peters

Jim Newton-Smith

Joanna Tett

Jo Peters

Judith Stewart

Kirstin Dykes

Lisa Sankey

Liz Banks

Liz Gaulton

Matti Shannon

Megan Proudfoot

Megan Vowles

Michael Hillman

Naomi Brewerton

Naomi Myerscough

Paul Sankey

Rich Day

Robin Head

Rachel Blackmore

Rosie Satchell

Sam Rowan

Sara Carter

Sarah Yates

Steve Glanville

Tim Brown

Trudi Murray

Wayne Massey

Wendy Massey